nope, i’m good.

farmhouse on a sunny day

Today, I took a walk at lunch. The thermometer said 71°F. My clothes were sticking to me when I came back in. (That could also be the personal space heater I’m carrying around with me these days. Thanks, baby.)

Here’s hoping this balmy November day is an indication of things to come. Maybe this winter won’t beat me down the way the past few have. Maybe we can swaddle ourselves with the birth of this girl, wrap up our family with amazement, find warmth in her existence, and actually delight in the winter.

A friend once told me about a friend of his who had just become a father. At a party they were both at, the new father was lying on the ground, taking in his new daughter, while the party went on in another room. When my friend came in to check on them, he asked if the dad wanted to come back to the party.

“Nope,” the dad said. “I’m good.”

I want to be that content. I want to gaze at our daughter. I want to be so absorbed in the miracle that is life that I can loll for hours on the carpet with this tiny new being.

I want to say, “Nope. I’m good.”

(This post is one in a November series for NaBloPoMo, National Blog Posting Month. You can find the rest here!)

4 thoughts on “nope, i’m good.

  1. I was “good” during many a party and gathering during my son’s early years and don’t regret a second of it. There will always be more party’s, but your child’s early years will fly by in the blink of an eye. Feels like my son was born just a few months ago and now suddenly he’s 17!

  2. I love this one. It reminded me of my 13 year old granddaughter. When I ask is she wants this or that she responds with – nope, I’m fine. I have been intrigued with her saying that for quite some time now and when I read your blog I felt it as an affirmation to myself. I don’t have to do this, that or the other thing. I’m fine right now where I am. Thank you!!!

Leave a Reply

