near: lent in pictures day 14

 blue samsung cell phone

near

+ + +

I love that this little device amazingly keeps so many far-away people near. That each week on Tuesday, I can curl up in my bed and call my mom and see how she’s thinking about art and life and faith these days. That I can ask my dad for investment advice or car maintenance help or updates on how God is working through his Bible study. That I can celebrate engagements and pregnancies, recall hilarious moments from high school, and know I’m prayed for—even from halfway across the country.

That I can feel so darn close to people I love so much.

+ + +

This post is part of a Lent Photo-a-Day series, connected to Rethink Church. The rest are here.

Leave a Reply

