tongue-tied

pile of garlic scapes

It’s Sunday afternoon, everything’s in bloom, and I’m still in my church clothes, clearing hard drive space on my seven-year-old computer and crossing my fingers in hopes of eight. (You can do it, little computer!)

pine nuts

Since I last posted, we’ve crossed four time zones, seen glaciers and a pod of whales, met one of my favorite bloggers, Molly Wizenberg, at her husband’s restaurant Delancey (Or more like, couldn’t concentrate on my conversation with Dan once she walked in and then proceeded very clumsily and star-struckedly to introduce myself. She was very gracious.), forgotten (again!) that the delicious Seattle restaurant Paseo is closed on Mondays, and returned home to an overgrown garden.

All of that has left me tongue-tied, too full to post. I promise to get back to it.

So for now, here’s a recipe.

IMG_2027_2

Garlic Scape Pesto

When our friends left the neighborhood in favor of the sunny terrain of Denver, they offered us most of their fridge and pantry. And they like food—good food. So we ended up with, among other things, a pound or so of pine nuts, a treat that I never allow myself. Our CSA furnished us with a dozen garlic scapes like garden hoses, and we’re on our way to pesto! If you don’t have pine nuts, almonds or walnuts do just as well (and more cheaply). Also, our food processor lost its ability to process when I tried to chop dates a few months back, so I made do with a blender. I imagine that our immersion blender would’ve done the job better, actually.

10-12 garlic scapes
1/3 cup pine nuts, toasted
1/2 cup grated parmesan
1/3 cup olive oil
salt to taste

(Note: pesto is incredibly forgiving. All of these measurements are approximations. Use what you have!)

Roughly chop the garlic scapes, then drop them into a food processor or blender along with the rest of the ingredients, including a pinch of salt. Blend until the pesto is an appealing consistency. With the blender, mine turned out more rustic, with nuggets of scape and whole pine nuts throughout. Taste and add more salt if it needs it.

Serve over warm pasta, with a handful of pine nuts and a dusting of parmesan.

3 thoughts on “tongue-tied

  1. So fun, Grace! I love the pic of the chopped garlic scapes, and the curly-cued ones at the top, so green! Sounds like you have some stories to tell, too! Looking forward to them.

Leave a Reply

